Greg Walter named Pioneer Football League’s commissioner

Tuesday, August 1, 2023
by Cody Bush, PFL Media Relations

ST. LOUIS, Mo. – The Pioneer Football League’s Presidents Council named Greg Walter the league’s second commissioner, effective August 1. Walter, who has served as the PFL’s associate commissioner since 2013, brings two decades of collegiate athletics experience, including an extensive background in leadership roles within the Football Championship Subdivision (FCS), into his new role with the league.

In addition, Patty Viverito will remain an advisor to the Pioneer Football League after serving as commissioner since the league’s founding in 1993.

“The PFL Council of Presidents is proud to announce the hiring of Greg Walter as its commissioner,” said Jay Morgan, Morehead State University President and PFL Presidents Council chairperson. “Greg is uniquely qualified due to his prior years of experience in the PFL, legal background, and leadership. Current Commissioner Patty Viverito has announced she intends to begin a phased retirement and will continue to serve in an advisory capacity. The Council looks forward to working with Greg and Patty for a seamless transition.”

“I am honored and incredibly excited to lead the PFL as its next Commissioner,” Walter said. “I am grateful for the support of our Presidents Council and Athletic Directors. I look forward to continuing working with them to strengthen the league, provide high-quality experiences to our student-athletes, and enhance Division I football’s value to our campuses. I am also thankful for the opportunity to follow and continue to collaborate with my wonderful mentor, Patty Viverito, who has been an amazing advocate for the PFL and FCS football for decades.”

In his prior role with the PFL, Walter oversaw regulatory matters, developed league schedules, and conducted a comprehensive study of the league’s financial aid policies. Additionally, Walter has served as associate commissioner for the Missouri Valley Football Conference since 2012, where he was extensively involved with all levels of conference governance and major strategic initiatives. Most recently, Walter has overseen the conference’s negotiations for its next television agreement and developed a scheduling and policy framework following recent membership transitions. 

In addition to his role with the PFL, Walter will concurrently serve as associate commissioner for the Ohio Valley Conference beginning August 2. 

From 2012 to 2021, Walter served as associate commissioner for the Missouri Valley Conference, where he was involved with all levels of governance and major strategic initiatives.

Walter served as assistant commissioner at The Summit League from 2008 to 2011, overseeing the league’s legislative and compliance programs, sports oversight, and league championships.

Before that, Walter worked as associate director of compliance for the Big Ten Conference from 2005 to 2007 and as a compliance officer for the University of Utah from 2004 to 2005.

Walter has served extensively on NCAA committees, including the Division I Council, Baseball Committee, and Legislative Committee. He also served as chair of the Division I Interpretations Committee and co-chair of the Enforcement Interpretations Process Working Group. 

Walter holds a juris doctorate from the University of Virginia School of Law in 2003 and a bachelor’s degree in biological sciences from Northwestern University in 2000. 

About the Pioneer Football League

The Pioneer Football League is the only non-scholarship, football-only NCAA Football Championship Subdivision conference. The PFL is a truly national conference with members on each coast and throughout the nation’s heartland. Butler University, the University of Dayton, Drake University, and Valparaiso University were among the league’s founding members in 1993, with Davidson College, Marist College, Morehead State University, Presbyterian College, the University of San Diego, the University of St. Thomas, and Stetson University joining to form the current 11-team league.