Dayton's Beaschler named First-Team CoSIDA Academic All-American

Thursday, December 3, 2015
by Dayton Athletic Media Relations

Senior Linebacker is UD’s 23rd Academic All-American since 2000

AUSTIN, Texas – University of Dayton senior linebacker Christopher Beaschler has been named a CoSIDA First Team Division Academic All-American, it was announced today.

Beaschler carries a 3.68 GPA in Mechanical Engineering. He is one of just two players who were named First Team All-PFL and First Team Academic All-PFL in both 2014 and 2015.

Beaschler was also named the Pioneer Football League Co-Scholar Athlete of the Year earlier this week. He is the only Academic All-American from the PFL this year.

A three-time Academic All-PFL selection and a three-time member of the league’s academic honor roll, the Ada, Ohio product led Dayton in tackles for the second straight season (9.3 per game).  A 2015 Flyer co-captain, he also led in solo hits (62), and was credited with 8.5 tackles for a loss, four pass break ups, three QB hurries, two sacks, a fumble forced and fumble recovered.

This is the first time a University of Dayton football player has been named a First Team Academic All-American since Steve Wirkus in 2011. Beaschler is Dayton football’s 53rd Academic All-American since its first one in 1970, and 23rd since 2000.

This is also the 31st time a Flyer football player has been named a First Team Academic All-American. Beaschler joins Tim Quinn (twice), Scott Terry, Greg French (twice), David Kemp, Jeff Slayback, Gerry Meyer, Brett Cuthbert, Dan Rosenbaum, Steve Lochow, Brad Mager, David Overholser, Josh Lemmon, Jacob jones, Jimmy Lee, Mark Kasmer (twice), Mary McNamara, Doug jones, Nick Sellett, Brandon Cramer (twice), Bart Bergfeld, Patrick McCormick, Brandon Wingeier (three times), A.J. Kaltenbach and Steve Wirkus.

Among schools playing Division I football, only Nebraska (106), Penn State (63) and Notre Dame (58) have had more. Oklahoma (52) and Ohio State (52) are next.

In order for a student-athlete to be eligible for Academic All-American recognition, a student-athlete must be a varsity starter or key reserve and maintain a cumulative G.P.A of 3.30 (on a scale of 4.00).

Dayton was 10-2 in 2015, sharing the PFL title with San Diego and representing the league in the NCAA FCS playoffs. It was Dayton's 12th Pioneer Football League championship in 23 years. Head coach Rick Chamberlin was named PFL Coach of the Year on Monday, and senior Nick Kaczkowski was also chosen co-Special Team Player of the Year. UD also had eight First Team All-PFL selections, and seven First Team Academic All-PFL selection.