Six PFL athletes named to CoSIDA Academic All-America Teams

Thursday, December 14, 2017
by Cody Bush, PFL Media Relations

AUSTIN, Texas – Six Pioneer Football League student-athletes have been named to the 2017 CoSIDA Academic All-America® Division I Football Teams, as selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).

Four of those student-athletes were First-Team All-America selections, including Dayton's Tucker Yinger and David Leisring and San Diego's Max Michaels who were each recognized as Academic All-Americans in 2016. The PFL's four first-team honorees ties the Big Ten Conference for most individuals named to the first team.

Since the Pioneer Football League was founded in 1993, the league has seen its athletes awarded CoSIDA Academic All-America honors 83 times, including 45 First-Team Academic All-Americans.

First-Team Academic All-America honorees:

  • Dayton running back Tucker Yinger
  • Drake defensive lineman Nathan Clayberg
  • Dayton defensive back David Leisring
  • San Diego defensive back Max Michaels

Second-Team Academic All-America selections:

  • Drake defensive lineman Tanner Evans
  • Dayton defensive lineman Isaac Sexton