Campbell's Smith named to Walter Payton Award Watch List

Wednesday, November 8, 2017
by Campbell Athletics Communciation

BUIES CREEK, N.C. – Campbell quarterback Daniel Smith has been named to the STATS FCS Walter Payton Award Watch List for national offensive player of the year.

The Payton Award, presented since 1987, has watched past winners such as Steve McNair, Tony Romo, Brian Westbrook, John Friesz, Brian Finneran, Jimmy Garoppolo and Cooper Kupp move on to the NFL.

Smith was named STATS FCS Offensive Player of the Week on Monday after a record setting day at Davidson.

He was also named honorable mention FCS Offensive Performer of the Week by the College Football Performance Awards, as well as Pioneer Football League Offensive Player of the Week.

Smith has been named to the College Football Performance Awards' (CFPA) 2017 midseason watch list for the FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy, as well as the STATS FCS Jerry Rice Award watch list.

He has also been named honorable mention STATS FCS Freshman Player of the Week twice.

Smith leads all of FCS in rushing yards (1,191), rush yards per carry (9.98) and points responsible for (174), also ranking fourth in the nation in rushing touchdowns (11), eighth in total offense (325.6 per game), eighth in total touchdowns (11), 17th in all-purpose yards (132.0) and 21st in passing touchdowns (18).