Drake Head Coach Stepsis Named AFCA Region 4 Coach of the Year

Wednesday, December 6, 2023
by Drake Athletics Communications

WACO, Texas — Drake head football coach Todd Stepsis was named American Football Coaches Association 2023 FCS Region 4 Coach of the Year, the AFCA announced on Wednesday, Dec. 6. The winners, including Stepsis, will be honored on Tuesday, Jan. 9, during the 2024 AFCA Convention in Nashville, Tenn.

The AFCA recognizes five regional Coach of the Year winners in the Association's five divisions: Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III, and NAIA. The winners are selected by active members of the Association who vote for coaches in their respective regions and divisions. 

Stepsis, the 2023 Pioneer Football League Coach of the Year, led Drake to its first PFL Championship since the 2012 season and to its first-ever appearance in the NCAA Division I Football Championship. The Bulldogs finished the 2023 season unbeaten in PFL play and extended their conference winning streak to 11 games. Drake's 8-3 regular season record was a complete turnaround from last season's 3-8 mark, which took winning the final three games of the season – all in PFL play – to reach. The Bulldog defense held their eight PFL opponents to 97 points (12.1 ppg) and ranked 32nd among FCS teams, allowing just 22.6 points per game during the regular season.
2023 AFCA Regional Coach of the Year Winners
Football Bowl Subdivision
Region 1: Mike Norvell, Florida State University
Region 2: Eliah Drinkwitz, University of Missouri
Region 3: David Braun, Northwestern University
Region 4: Jerry Kill, New Mexico State University
Region 5: Kalen DeBoer, University of Washington
Football Championship Subdivision
Region 1: Greg Gattuso, University at Albany
Region 2: Clay Hendrix, Furman University
Region 3: *Willie Simmons, Florida A&M University
Region 4: Todd Stepsis, Drake University
Region 5: Bobby Hauck, University of Montana
Division II 
Region 1: Jim Clements, Kutztown University 
Region 2: *Chennis Berry, Benedict College
Region 3: Josh Lamberson, University of Central Missouri
Region 4: Paul Simmons, Harding University
Region 5: Pete Sterbick, Colorado School of Mines
Division III
Region 1: Curt Fitzpatrick, SUNY Cortland
Region 2: Greg Chimera, Johns Hopkins University
Region 3: Jerheme Urban, Trinity (Tex.) University
Region 4: *Jason Couch, Alma College
Region 5: Chris Winter, Wartburg College
Region 1: Doug Socha, Keiser University
Region 2: Mike Feminis, Saint Xavier University
Region 3: Chuck Hepola, Evangel University
Region 4: *Matt McCarty, Northwestern College
Region 5: Drew Maddox, Louisiana Christian University

Copyright ©2024 Pioneer Football League. All Rights Reserved.