Returning Players of the Year highlight 2015 Preseason All-PFL Teams
Dayton running back Connor Kacsor.
Dayton running back Connor Kacsor.

Wednesday, July 29, 2015
by Cody Bush, PFL Media Relations

ST. LOUIS – Twenty-nine student-athletes were named to the 2015 Preseason All-Pioneer Football League Team as selected by the league’s head coaches, Wednesday.

The PFL will host its preseason coaches teleconference at 11 a.m. (ET), Thursday. The league released its preseason coaches poll, Tuesday.

Returning players who were selected to the league’s 2014 All-PFL Teams were placed automatically on the 2015 Preseason All-PFL team in order of voting. Sixteen first-team All-PFL honorees return for the 2015 season. In addition, 12 second-team All-PFL selections and one honorable mention recipient from the 2014 All-PFL squads were elevated to the 2015 preseason squad.

The league’s returning depth is highlighted by the return of both its 2014 Players of the Year. Dayton running back Connor Kacsor, the reigning PFL Offensive Player of the Year, led the league in rushing yards (1,547) and touchdowns (17) while ranking fifth among FCS running back in yards per game (140.6) last season. Stetson safety Donald Payne, the returning PFL Defensive Player of the Year, set the PFL’s record for single-season tackles (175) and led all FCS defensive players in tackles per game (14.6).

Jacksonville redshirt senior quarterback Kade Bell returns to direct the Preseason All-PFL Offensive unit after throwing for 3,181 yards and 31 touchdowns last season, leading the league with a 152.3 pass efficiency rating (ninth among FCS quarterbacks). Among the wide receiver corps, Davidson senior William Morris (98 receptions, 1,224 yards) and Marist redshirt senior Matt Tralli (69 receptions, 626 yards) were the league’s top two in receptions per game while Stetson junior Kegan Moore (26 receptions, 686 yards) caught six touchdowns.

Joining Bell in the backfield will be Kacsor and San Diego redshirt junior running back Jonah Hodges (221 carries, 1214 yards) – the league’s top two rushers last season. Campbell senior fullback Dalton Dillon (188 all-purpose yards) returns after first-team All-PFL honors last season.

An experienced offensive front line leads the offensive squad with two redshirt seniors and three seniors on the unit. Three returning first-team All-PFL selections highlight the offensive line: Jacksonville’s Kevin Battle, Butler’s Michael Demos and Marist’s Mike Mangino. They were joined by San Diego’s Pono Keni and Drake’s Aaron Melton, who were both elevated from Second Team All-PFL honors last season.

The defensive front line is led by two returning first-team All-PFL picks. Campbell senior Ugonna Awuruonye (68 tackles, 8.0 sacks, 12 tackles for loss) and Marist redshirt senior Demetrius Williams (37 tackles, 3.5 sacks, 15.5 TFL) captain the unit. They are joined by Campbell senior Greg Milhouse (58 tackles, 2.5 sacks, 5.5 TFL) and Dayton redshirt-junior Nate Sudnick (64 tackles, 5.5 sacks, 11.5 TFL), who were both second-team honorees last season.

Dayton redshirt junior Christopher Beaschler (101 tackles) and Jacksonville junior Grady Redding (79 tackles, 7 TFL) each seek to improve on impressive sophomore campaigns that resulted in First-Team All-PFL honors. Valparaiso senior linebacker Alex Green (108 tackles) and Drake redshirt senior John Hugunin (89 tackles, 4 TFL) are both their respective team’s returning tacklers after picking up Second-Team All-PFL honors last season.

A five-man secondary rounds out the league’s preseason defensive unit, including three returning First-Team All-PFL honorees. Joining Payne on the unit are Marist redshirt senior Zach Adler (78 tackles, 6 interceptions, 13 passes defended) and Jacksonville senior Terrance Bryant (58 tackles, 6 passes defended). San Diego junior Jamal Agnew (41 tackles, 4 INT, 23 passes defended) and Drake redshirt senior Brad Duwe (40 tackles, 2 INT, 10 passes defended) return after piecing together Second-Team All-PFL campaigns last season.

Morehead State redshirt senior return specialist Justin Cornwall (702 combined return yards, 1,121 all-purpose yards) is the lone returning First-Team All-PFL honoree on the special teams unit. Jacksonville redshirt junior Brandon Behr (13-18 FG, 46-49 PAT) was the league’s second-team placekicker while Butler redshirt senior Brian Akialis (68 punts, 36.9 yards per punt) was a second-team punter last season.


2015 Preseason All-Pioneer Football League First Team
(as selected by PFL head coaches)
Pos. Player School Ht. Wt. Yr. Hometown (Previous School)
WR William Morris (1) Davidson 6-2 178 Sr. Dallas, Texas (Highland Park HS)
WR Kegan Moore (H) Stetson 6-0 175 Jr. Marietta, Ga. (Sprayberry HS)
WR Matt Tralli (2) Marist 5-10 190 R-Sr. Croton, N.Y. (Croton-Harmon HS)
TE Ross Dwelley (2) San Diego 6-5 237 R-Jr. El Dorado Hills, Calif. (Oakridge HS)
QB Kade Bell (1) Jacksonville 6-1 185 R-Sr. Fleming Island, Fla. (Fleming Island HS)
RB Jonah Hodges (1) San Diego 5-9 185 R-Jr. Santa Cruz, Calif. (California)
RB Connor Kacsor (1, OffPOY) Dayton 6-0 211 R-Sr. Leo, Ind. (Leo HS)
FB Dalton Dillon (1) Campbell 6-1 225 Sr. Colfax, N.C. (NW Guilford HS)
OL Kevin Battle (1) Jacksonville 6-4 315 R-Sr. Orlando, Fla. (Oak Ridge HS)
OL Michael Demos (1) Butler 6-4 270 Sr. Glenview, Ill. (Glenbrook South HS)
OL Pono Keni (1) San Diego 6-3 290 Sr. Kailua, Hawaii (St. Louis HS)
OL Mike Mangino (2) Marist 6-2 297 R-Sr. Swedesboro, N.J. (Gloucester Catholic HS)
OL Aaron Melton (2) Drake 6-1 284 Sr. Castle Rock, Colo. (Valor Christian HS)
DEFENSE (Five due defensive backs to a tie in voting)
DL Ugonna Awuruonye (1) Campbell 6-5 260 Sr. Charlotte, N.C. (First Assembly Christian)
DL Greg Milhouse (2) Campbell 6-3 295 Sr. Garner, N.C. (Garner Magnet HS)
DL Nate Sudnick (2) Dayton 6-2 245 R-Jr. Chicago, Ill. (West Chicago HS)
DL Demetrius Williams (1) Marist 6-2 269 R-Sr. Chester, Pa. (Smyrna HS)
LB Christopher Beaschler (1) Dayton 6-0 226 R-Jr. Ada, Ohio (Ada HS)
LB Alex Green (2) Valparaiso 6-3 225 Sr. Zionsville, Ind. (Zionsville Community HS)
LB John Hugunin (2) Drake 5-11 232 R-Sr. Oswego, Ill. (Oswego HS)
LB Grady Redding (1) Jacksonville 5-10 190 Jr. Cocoa, Fla. (Cocoa HS)
DB Zach Adler (1) Marist 6-1 202 R-Sr. Walden, N.Y. (Valley Central HS)
DB Jamal Agnew (2) San Diego 5-9 180 Jr. San Diego, Calif. (Point Loma HS)
DB Terrance Bryant (1) Jacksonville 6-2 190 Sr. Fort Walton Beach, Fla. (Choctawhatchee HS)
DB Brad Duwe (2) Drake 6-0 192 R-Sr. Dubuque, Iowa (Dubuque Hempstead HS)
DB Donald Payne (1, DefPOY) Stetson 6-0 215 R-Jr. Fayetteville, Ga. (Landmark Christian HS)
PK Brandon Behr (2) Jacksonville 5-11 185 R-Jr. Fleming Island, Fla. (Fleming Island HS)
P Brian Akialis (2) Butler 6-2 190 R-Sr. Buffalo Grove, Ill. (Buffalo Grove HS)
RS Justin Cornwall (1) Morehead State 5-10 166 R-Sr. Cincinnati, Ohio (Princeton HS)
Notes in parentheses: OffPOY/DefPOY-Player was the PFL Offensive or Defensive Player of the Year in 2014, 1-was a first-team All-PFL selection in 2014, 2-was a second-team All-PFL selection in 2014, H-was an All-PFL honorable mention selection in 2014
Copyright ©2024 Pioneer Football League. All Rights Reserved.