Record 57 PFL athletes named to 2020 Hampshire Society

Wednesday, April 15, 2020
by Cody Bush, PFL Media Relations

IRVING, Texas – A record fifty-seven Pioneer Football League student-athletes, representing seven member institutions, earned recognition as members of the 2020 NFF Hampshire Honor Society, the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame, announced Wednesday.

The University of Dayton led all programs in 2020 with 21 student-athletes honored. The Flyers, along with Butler, were two of the 17 schools that saw at least 10 honorees on the 2020 listing.

The NFF’s Hampshire Honor Society recognizes those college football players from all divisions of play that maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college careers. Over 1,400 student-athletes from 365 schools qualified for membership in the society’s 13th year.

Nominated by their respective schools, members of the NFF Hampshire Honor Society must have:

  • Completed their final year of playing eligibility in 2018;
    • Graduated players, who have remaining eligibility but will not return to collegiate play (e.g. declared for NFL Draft or retired from football), may also be nominated.
  • Achieved a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout their entire course of undergraduate study; and
  • Met all NCAA- or NAIA-mandated progress toward degree requirements.
  • Been starters or significant contributors throughout the 2018 season.

The list of those Pioneer Football League student-athletes recognized as members of the 2020 NFF Hampshire Society follows:

Sam Badovinac, Butler University
Drew Bevelhimer, Butler University
Dan DelGrosso, Butler University
Nick Mahalak, Butler University
Justin Markus, Butler University
John McArthur, Butler University
Eric Perry, Butler University
Luke Sennett, Butler University
Ryan Smith, Butler University
Sammy Szames, Butler University
Brad Sznajder, Butler University
Brian Bourgeois, Davidson College
Vince Durham, Davidson College
George Hatalowich, Davidson College
Hunter Louthan, Davidson College
Connor Richey, Davidson College
Ethan Steinbacher, Davidson College
Kevin Stipe, Davidson College
Matt Brandeis, University of Dayton
Matthew Clifford, University of Dayton
Turner Cook, University of Dayton
Sam Costantino, University of Dayton
Brian Gillen, University of Dayton
Ryan Harkleroad, University of Dayton
Markus Hurd, University of Dayton
Zack Jablonski, University of Dayton
Justin Karem, University of Dayton
Drew Melaragno, University of Dayton
Michael Newbold, University of Dayton
Michael Niese, University of Dayton
Nate Obringer, University of Dayton
Sean Prophit, University of Dayton
Tim Roell, University of Dayton
Dom Sciarretti, University of Dayton
Tim Simon, University of Dayton
Ryan Skibinski, University of Dayton
Adam Trautman, University of Dayton
Tyler Vincent, University of Dayton
Drake Yinger, University of Dayton
Devin Cates, Drake University
Steven Doran, Drake University
Isaiah Kent-Schneider, Drake University
Jacob Mury, Drake University
Chris Carolei, Marist College
Ethan Carpenter, Marist College
Ian Grant, Marist College
Jack Griffith, Marist College
Andrew McElroy, Marist College
Colin Moran, Marist College
Seth Thompson, Marist College
Alex Farina, University of San Diego
Reid Sinnett, University of San Diego
Marcus Vaivao, University of San Diego
Jamieson Craske, Stetson University
Gaven DeFilippo, Stetson University
Peter Katz, Stetson University
Jason Winston, Stetson University