Three PFL Punters Named to FCS Punter of the Year Watch List

Wednesday, July 31, 2019
by Cody Bush, PFL Media Relations

AUGUSTA, Ga. – A trio of Pioneer Football League Punters were named to the inaugural FCS Punter of the Year Award Watch List presented by The Augusta Sports Council.

Drake's Ross Kennedy, Morehead State's Andrew Foster and San Diego's Tanner Kuljian were each named to the 28-player list released Friday. Each of the three finished 2018 ranked among the NCAA's Top 100 punters in punting average. Kuljian was ranked No. 14 nationally, averaging 42.8 yards per punt on 59 kicks. Foster was No. 26 among FCS kickers with 41.9 yards per punt. Kennedy finished the season No. 93 among FCS punters (37.1 yards per punt).

The Augusta Sports Council also is home to the Ray Guy Award which honors the nation's best FBS collegiate punter each year. 

The FCS Punter of the Year Preseason Watchlist was chosen based on 2018 All-Americans, 2018 all-conference selections, and conference nominations. Players were reviewed based on their eligibility and inclusion on their team's 2019 roster. 

The winner of The FCS Punter of the Year award will be chosen in the process loosely outlined below:

End of July: Preseason watchlist released, award announced to the public
End of November: Committee will choose top 10 semi-finalists
Early December: Voting Body will choose top 3 finalists
Mid-December: Second Round of voting will determine winner
Early January: Winner announced