Five PFL student-athletes named NFF Campbell Trophy semifinalists

Wednesday, September 26, 2018
by Cody Bush, PFL Media Relations

IRVING, Texas – Five Pioneer Football League student-athletes have been named as semifinalists for the 2018 William V. Campbell Trophy presented by Fidelity Investments and The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame.

The NFF recognized a group of 179 football student-athletes for the 2018 trophy, recognizes an individual as the absolute best football scholar-athlete in the nation. Fidelity Investments is a proud partner of the Campbell Trophy®. The five PFL student-athletes recognized as semifinalists were:

  • Nathan Campbell, Davidson
  • David Leisring, Dayton
  • Nathan Clayberg, Drake
  • Nic Duch, Jacksonville
  • Anthony Lawrence, San Diego

That quintet joins a group that now includes 77 PFL student-athletes who have been named a semifinalist for the Campbell Trophy, or its predecssor the Draddy Trophy, since 1998.

The NFF will announce 12-14 finalists on Oct. 31, and each of them will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the 60th NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class. The finalists will travel to New York City for the 61st NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 4, where their accomplishments will be highlighted in front of one of the most powerful audiences in all of sports. Live during the event, one member of the class will be declared as the winner of the 29th William V. Campbell Trophy® and have his postgraduate scholarship increased to $25,000.

Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, candidates for the awards must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of playing eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.

“These 179 impressive candidates truly represent the scholar-athlete ideal,” said NFF Chairman Archie Manning, whose sons Peyton (Campbell Trophy® winner) and Eli were named NFF National Scholar-Athletes in 1997 and 2003, respectively. “For 60 years, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete program has showcased more than 800 college football players who have been successful on the football field, in the classroom and in the community. This year’s semifinalists further illustrate the power of our great sport in developing the next generation of influential leaders.”

Named in honor of the late Bill Campbell, former chairman of Intuit, former player and head coach at Columbia University and the 2004 recipient of the NFF’s Gold Medal, the Campbell Trophy® is a 25-pound bronze trophy and increases the amount of the recipient’s grant by $7,000 for a total postgraduate scholarship of $25,000. This year’s postgraduate scholarships will push the program’s all-time distribution to more than $11.5 million.

“The NFF would like to personally congratulate each of the nominees as well as their schools and coaches on their tremendous accomplishments,” said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. “We are extremely proud to highlight each semifinalist’s achievements, showcasing their ability to balance academics and athletics at the highest level. The NFF Awards Committee will have an incredibly difficult task in selecting the finalists from this outstanding group of candidates.”

PFL All-Time NFF Campbell Trophy Semifinalists

* - indicates athlete was later named a finalist

2018 (5)

Nathan Campbell, Davidson
David Leisring, Dayton
Nathan Clayberg, Drake
Nic Duch, Jacksonville
Anthony Lawrence, San Diego

2017 (6)

Brian Stryffeler, Campbell
Taylor Mitchell, Davidson
Jack Crain, Dayton
Marcellus Calhoun, Marist
Max Michaels, San Diego
Austin Tyrrell, Stetson

2016 (6)

Jarrett Ozimek, Campbell
*Christopher Beaschler, Dayton
Cameron Gibson, Marist
Pat DiSalvio, Morehead State
Devyn Bryant, San Diego
Davion Belk, Stetson

2015 (3)

Hunter Sommerville, Campbell
Danny Leach, Dayton
John Brennan, Marist

2014 (3)

Adam Lutz, Campbell
Will Bardo, Dayton
Troy McClelland, San Diego

2013 (7)

Matt Lancaster, Butler
Kurt Odom, Campbell
Colin Monnier, Dayton
Brandon Coleman, Drake
Tyler Ramsey, Marist
Blake Oliaro, San Diego
Alex Grask, Valparaiso

2012 (4)

Jordan Ridley, Butler
Sam Eberwein, Campbell
Bill Petraiuolo, Dayton
Tyler Moorehead, Drake

2011 (2)

Devon Langhorst, Dayton
Michael Lahart, Drake
Bobby Wysocki, Valparaiso

2010 (3)

Brandon Wingeier, Dayton
Dan Clinton, Drake
Terrence Turner, Marist

2009 (5)

Sean Heenan, Dayton
Sean Kitts, Drake
Terrence Turner, Marist
Wes McDermott, Morehead State
Conrad Smith, San Diego

2008 (5)

Mike Bennett, Butler
Bart Bergfeld, Dayton
Nick Feldman, Morehead State
Patrick O’Neill, San Diego
Ryan Koepke, Valparaiso

2007 (2)

*Brandon Cramer, Dayton
Justin Wiler, Valparaiso

2006 (4)

David McMahon, Butler
Kyle Kinsell, Davidson
Brandon Godsey, Dayton
Kyson Hawkins, San Diego

2005 (4)

Jordan Richardson, Austin Peay
David McMahon, Butler
Ryan Horvath, Drake
Phillip Bretsch, San Diego

2004 (5)

Brendan Sete, Davidson
James Hart, Butler
Kevin Knutson, Valparaiso
Christopher McDonnell, Drake
Jonathan Taylor, Austin Peay

2003 (4)

Ryan Bateman, Valparaiso
Chris Costello, Davidson
Eric Rasmussen, San Diego
Nicholas Sellet, Dayton

2002 (1)

Justin Dixon, San Diego

2001 (4)

Bert Britton, Austin Peay
DeWayne Ewing, Butler
Martin McNamara, Dayton
Ryan Lemberg, Valparaiso

2000 (1)

Michael Stadler, San Diego

1999 (1)

Mike Goletz, Butler

1998 (1)

Nick Batalis, Butler