Seven PFL student-athletes named to CoSIDA Academic All-America Teams

Thursday, December 1, 2016
by Cody Bush, PFL Media Relations

AUSTIN, Texas – Seven Pioneer Football League student-athletes were named to the 2016 Academic All-America® Division I Football Teams as selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America.

Dayton senior linebacker Christopher Beaschler, the PFL's two-time Scholar-Athlete of the Year, was a First-Team Academic All-America® choice for a second consecutive year. Six PFL student-athletes were Second-Team Academic All-America® choices: Dayton junior running back Tucker Yinger, Morehead State junior defensive lineman Colt Briggs, Butler senior linebacker Sean Horan, San Diego senior defensive back Devyn Bryant, Dayton sophomore defensive back David Leisring and San Diego junior defensive back Max Michaels.

Stanford junior running back Christian McCaffrey was named CoSIDA Academic All-America® Team Member of the Year, highlighting the Division I squads.

2016 PFL Academic All-Americans® as selected by CoSIDA

First Team
Christopher Beaschler, Dayton

Second Team
Tucker Yinger, Dayton
Colt Briggs, Morehead State
Sean Horan, Butler
Devyn Bryant, San Diego
David Leisring, Dayton
Max Michaels, San Diego