Morehead State athletic director Hutchinson to serve as FCS Chairman

Tuesday, September 6, 2016
by Morehead State Athletics Media Relations

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – Morehead State Director of Athletics Brian Hutchinson will serve as chair of the Division I Football Championship Committee in 2016-17.

Hutchinson, who has served as Morehead State's director of athletics since 2004, is in his fourth year on this national committee, and he is the first Pioneer Football League athletic director to serve as chair.

The role of the Football Championship Committee is to have oversight for the Division I Football Championship. The committee will determine the best team in the FCS by determining the 24-team field for the postseason championship, which begins on Nov. 26.

The committee also enhances the perception of FCS football. The committee helps the NCAA give student-athletes an all-around first-class experience while showcasing the positive attributes of FCS competition, such as perseverance, integrity, passion, character and sportsmanship.

Hutchinson has served on a variety of NCAA leadership teams throughout his tenure, including the NCAA Division I Council, where he was the inaugural OVC representative, the Competition Oversight Standing Committee and the Football Championship Subdivision Central Regional Advisory Committee. He has also served on the Division I Football Issues Committee (2013-14), the Division I Recruiting and Personnel Issues Committee (2008-11), the FCS Governance Committee (2006-08), the FCS Division I Football Issues Committee (2006-08).

The nine-member FCS Football Championship Committee includes athletic directors Paul Schlickmann (Central Connecticut), Nathan Pine (Holy Cross), Brad Teague (Central Arkansas), Jeff Tingey (Idaho State), Richard Johnson (Wofford), Greg Seitz (Jacksonville State), Marty Scarano (New Hampshire), Kyle Moats (Missouri State) and Chuck Burch (Gardner-Webb).

Hutchinson's term will expire on August 31, 2017.