San Diego's Bandy, Dayton's Trautman named to Walter Payton Award Preseason Watch List

Wednesday, July 31, 2019
by San Diego & Dayton Athletic Media Relations

CHICAGO — San Diego wide receiver Michael Bandy and Dayton tight end Adam Trautman were named to the STATS FCS Walter Payton Award Watch List, as announced by the organization on Wednesday.

Bandy and Trautman were two of 25 players on the watch list, which is considered the Heisman of the FCS.

The senior wide receiver from La Mirada, California had a breakout year for the Toreros in 2018, finishing with 1,698 receiving yards—the fifth most in a single season in FCS history—and 14 touchdowns. Bandy set the USD records for receiving yards in a single season (1,698) and receiving yards in a single game (324) in a victory against Davidson (Nov. 10, 2018). Bandy averaged 141.5 receiving yards per game to rank 10th-best all-time, earning consensus All-America honors.

Bandy was a 2019 STATS FCS Preseason All-America first team selection as well as being named to the 2019 Preseason All-PFL Team.

Trautman enters his final year as a Flyer 24 catches shy of the program's career receptions record and seven touchdown's away from the record of 24 receiving touchdowns.  Last season, he had team bests with 41 receptions for 604 yards and nine touchdowns, and a career-best 14.7 yards per catch average.

Standing 6-foot-6, and weighing in at 253 pounds, Trautman has lined up as tight end, slot receiver, wideout, and wildcat quarterback during his college career.

He has started the last 29 games for Dayton at tight end.  Coincidentally, the last Flyer offensive player to be named an All-American was tight end Matt Champa in 2007.

The watch list includes at least one player from all 13 FCS conferences.

The Payton Award, first presented in 1987, has watched past winners such as Steve McNair, Tony Romo, Brian Westbrook, John Friesz, Brian Finneran, Jimmy Garoppolo and Cooper Kupp move on to the NFL.

The watch list will have updates during the season. A national panel of over 150 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries will select the winner following the regular season.

Copyright ©2019 Pioneer Football League. All Rights Reserved.