Three PFL student-athletes named FCS Academic All-Stars

Friday, January 4, 2019
by Cody Bush, PFL Media Relations

Three Pioneer Football League student-athletes were among 47 student-athletes selected by the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA) to its 21st Annual Academic All-Star Team.

Stetson defensive lineman Regis Steighner, Dayton defensive back David Leisring and Dayton running back Tucker Yinger were each among the 47 individuals named to the 2018 Academic All-Star Team. Each of the 47 individuals recognized were selected from a pool of nearly 100 applicants.

"One of the most important responsibilities that the FCS ADA has is the selection of the Annual Academic All-Star Team," stated current FCS ADA President Bill Smith, director of athletics at Bryant University. "This group of young men are some of the best and brightest football players and scholars in the country. They have been leaders on their individual campuses and have excelled in the classroom, their communities and on the gridiron. They truly exemplify FCS football and now we have the honor of naming them to the 2018 Academic All Star Team."

To view the complete list of winners, click here.

Football players from all Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) institutions are eligible for the award. Each of the nominees were required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or key player with legitimate athletics credentials. They must have reached their second year of athletics and academic standing at the nominated institution and have completed a minimum of one full academic year at the nominated institution. They must also have participated in 50 percent (50%) of the games played at their designated position.

Additionally, from the 2018 Academic All-Star Team, seven finalists were selected for the 18th Annual FCS ADA $5,000 Postgraduate Scholarship. Two student-athletes will receive postgraduate scholarships during the Association's annual membership meeting held in conjunction with the 2019 NACDA Convention, at the World Center Marriott in Orlando, Florida, June 10-12.

The 2018 FCS ADA Postgraduate Scholarship finalists are: Alex Pechin, Bucknell University, P, 3.93 GPA; Chandler Burks, Kennesaw State University, QB, 3.9 GPA; Andrew Chuma, Lafayette College, DL, 3.95 GPA; Easton Stick, North Dakota State University, QB, 4.0 GPA; Taryn Christion, South Dakota State University, QB, 3.61 GPA; Josh Poplar, Tennessee Tech University, LB, 3.97 GPA; David Leisring, University of Dayton, DB, 3.71 GPA.

A special Review Committee of FCS athletics directors was responsible for selecting the 2018 All-Star Team and FCS ADA Postgraduate Scholarship finalists. This year's Review Committee consisted of: Bill Smith, Bryant University (Chair); Nathan Pine, College of the Holy Cross; Kent Haslam, University of Montana; Ashley Robinson, Jackson State University; and Thorr Bjorn, University of Rhode Island.

Copyright ©2019 Pioneer Football League. All Rights Reserved.